Skip Navigation Links weather.gov 
NOAA logo - Click to go to the NOAA homepage
NOAA's National Weather Service
Aviation Weather Center
  NWS logo - Click to go to the NWS homepage
     

 


USA.gov is the U.S. Government's official Web portal to all Federal, state and local government Web resources and services.
AWC Home > Testbed > Overview
NOAA's Aviation Weather Testbed Overview

Project

The Aviation Weather Testbed provides a means of testing new science and technology for the purpose of eventually producing better aviation weather products and services. The execution of the Testbed is accomplished via close collaboration between the AWC and its many partners.

Purpose

  • Provide a path to operational use for experimental products and services
  • Invite the participation of third parties
  • Provide a test environment for the purpose of refining and optimizing experimental forecast tools
  • Verify the the scientific validity of experimental products
  • Educate forecasters about experimental tools and the latest research related to aviation weather forecasting
  • Educate researchers about operational forecast needs and constraints

Plan and Schedules

Participation in the AWT requires conformity with NWS directives and guidelines. These directives include:

Accomplishments


Partners


Contact

David R. Bright
NOAA/NWS/NCEP/Aviation Weather Center
Chief, Aviation Support Branch
7220 NW 101st Terrace, Room 106
Kansas City, MO 64153


Turbulence     Icing     Convection     Winds/Temps     Progs     Java Tools
METARs     TAFs     PIREPs     SIGMET/AIRMET     Satellite     Radar
Page loaded:   00:48 UTC
05:48 PM Pacific  |   06:48 PM Mountain  |   07:48 PM Central  |   08:48 PM Eastern | 4

NOAA's National Weather Service
National Centers for Environmental Prediction
Aviation Weather Center
7220 NW 101st Terr., Room 118
Kansas City, MO 64153-2371
Contact AWC Internet Services
Page last modified: December 16, 2011
Disclaimer

Credits

Glossary
Privacy Policy

About Us

Career Opportunities

This Qualified Internet Communication Provider's (QICP) servers and communication interfaces are approved by the FAA as secure, reliable, and accessible in accordance with AC 00-62.
    1) This QICP does not ensure the quality and currency of the information transmitted to you.
    2) The user assumes the entire risk related to the information and its use.